MMFF 2016 Complete List of Winners

This year’s choices for the Magic 8 contenders for the annual Metro Manila Film Festival came out as a suprise. Most of the films were Indie and the so-called MMFF ‘regulars’ like Vic Sotto and Vice Ganda as well as the Regal tradition ‘Mano Po’ were booted out from the competition. 

However, the MMFF committee has assured that despite being non ‘mainstream-like’, all these films are of good quality and will showcase the creativity of Filipino filmmakers.

MMFF 2016 Complete List of Winners

On December 29 during the Gabi Ng Parangal, the winners for the MMFF were named.

  • Best Picture – Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Actor – Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful)
  • Best Actress – Irma Adlawan (Oro)
  • Best Supporting Actress – Phoebe Walker (Seklusyon)
  • Best Supporting Actor – Christian Balbes (Die Beautiful)
  • Best Cast Ensemble – Oro
  • Special Jury Prize – Rhed Bustamante (Seklusyon)
  • Best Director – Erik Matti (Seklusyon)
  • Best Screenplay – Seklusyon
  • Best Sound – Seklusyon
  • Best Musical Score – Saving Sally
  • Best Theme Song – Seklusyon
  • Best Production Design – Seklusyon
  • Best Editing – Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Cinematography – Seklusyon
  • FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence – Oro
  • Gatpuno Antonio J Villegas Cultural Award – Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Float – Die Beautiful
  • People’s Choice (Online Votes) – Die Beautiful
  • Children’s Choice – Saving Sally, Sunday Beauty Queen, Vince and Kath and James

The films are still shown in Metro Manila and cinemas nationwide.


JBM has been blogging since 2005 and has maintained several blogs. She is a pediatrician by profession and is currently working at a government hospital in Mindanao.

One thought on “MMFF 2016 Complete List of Winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!