Entertainment The 2016 Awit Awards Winners

The 2016 Awit Awards Winners


This year’s annual Awit Awards was held on December 7, 2016 at the Music Museum and was hosted by Matteo Guidicelli and Tippy Dos Santos.

Awit Awards is a prestigious award-giving body, spearheaded by PARI (The Philippine Association of the Record Industry, Inc.), that gives recognition to Filipino performing artists and people behind the making of Filipino recorded music.

Now on its 29th year, Awit Awards, aside from giving recognition to local music artists, aim to promote the Philippine music industry and champion music making and production.

Alden Richards’ “Wish I May” Album was named Best Selling Album of the Year (2015), while its carrier single of same title was the most downloaded song last year.

Popstar Sarah Geronimo won big with an Album of the Year award for her latest album “The Great Unknown”.

Complete List of 2016 Awit Awards Winners

  • Best Performance by a Child – “Believe in Magic” Julia Concio
  • Best Inspirational Recording – Ebe Dancel “Bawat Daan”
  • Best Christmas Recording – “Apat na Buwang Pasko” Sung by Jon Santos
  • Best Musical Arrangement – “Pero”
  • Best Vocal Arrangement – “Waters of March” Moy Ortiz
  • Best Engineered Recording – “Bawat Daan” Mark Villar
  • Best World Music Recording – “Kasayaw” Ebe Dancel
  • Best Novelty Recording – “Siopao mong Pagibig”
  • Best Song Written for Movie/TV/Stage Play – “Ang Probinsyano” – Ebe Dancel with Gloc 9
  • Most Downloaded Song and Artist for 2015 – Wish I May “Alden Richards”
  • Best Selling Album of the Year – Alden Richards
  • Best Jazz Recording – “Pero”
  • Music Video of the Year – “Walang Anuman”
  • Best Instrumental Performance – “The Sound of Life”
  • Best Performance by a New Group Recording Artist-“Imposible” Gravity
  • Best Performance by a New Male Recording Artist- “Mabuti Pa” Daryl Ong
  • Best Performance by a New Female Recording Artist – “Sabi Sabi” Kris Angelica
  • Best Ballad Recording – “Araw Gabi” Aiza Seguerra
  • Best Pop Recording – “Free Fall into Love” Marion Aunor
  • Best Dance- “Lala” Yassi Pressman
  • Best R&B Recording – “Parang Wala Lang” Tippy Dos Santos
  • Best Rock/Alternative Recording – “Firepower” Bamboo
  • Best Performance by Group Recording Artist – “LDR” Harana
  • Best Collaboration – “Triangulo” Thyro Yumi and Jeric Medina
  • Best Performance by a Male Artist- “Paano ko Sasabihin” Thor Dulay
  • Best Performance by a Female Artist- “Parang Wala Lang” Tippy Dos Santos
  • Song of the Year – “Bawat Daan” Ebe Dancel
  • Album of the Year – “The Great Unknown” Sarah Geronimo


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.