Education DOH to provide medical scholarships for aspiring doctors for SY 2017-2018

DOH to provide medical scholarships for aspiring doctors for SY 2017-2018


The Department of Health (DOH) will be providing medical scholarships to aspiring doctors for school year 2017-2018, Dr. Elvira Dayrit, Director of the Health Human Resource Development Bureau (HHRDB), said in a letter.

The DOH Medical Scholarship Program will be given to deserving medical students who are willing to be deployed to far flung, disadvantaged and underserved areas after passing the board examination.  The integrated approach aims to address the inequitable access to quality healthcare services prioritizing the depressed, hard to reach communities, and marginalized and vulnerable population of the country.

According to Dr. Dayrit, the HHRDB is currently coordinating with the possible partner state universities and colleges on the admission process of qualified scholars to the DOH Medical Scholarship Program based on the established criteria of both the DOH and the partner institution.

Interested applicants may go to the DOH partner schools (listed below) to apply and undergo the screening and selection process of the chosen school.  Only those accepted by the partner schools shall be considered for final screening and evaluation by the DOH Scholarship Screening and Selective Committee based on the established criteria and process.

The HHRDB said it is still finalizing the guidelines and mechanisms for the DOH Medical Scholarsip Program.

LIST: Partner Schools for the DOH Medical Scholarship Program SY 2017-2018

As of posting, six state universities have been prospected to partner with the DOH Medical Scholarship Program, the same schools which also participated in the Pinoy MD scholarship program before.  These are:

  1. University of the Philippines – Ermita, Manila
  2. Pamantassan ng Lungsod ng Maynila – Intramuros, Manila
  3. Cagayan State University – Carig Sur, Tuguegarao City
  4. West Visayas State University – Lapaz, Iloilo City
  5. University of the Philippines, School of Health Sciences – Palo, Leyte
  6. Mindanao State University – Pala-o, Iligan City

For concerns, interested applicants may call DOH hotlines (02) 651-7800 local 4227 and (02) 743-1776.

Bookmark us, like us on Facebook,  and follow us on Twitter to get information and updates on the DOH Medical Scholarship Program SY 2017-2018.